Other Things You Should Read 4: Mykle Hansen. Mykle Hansen. Mykle Hansen.

Specifically his book: Help! A Bear is Eating Me!

When I began reading “Help! A Bear is Eating Me!” I was so frustrated with the narrator that I almost wanted to stop reading it, just out of spite. Who would create such a terrible person? There was no way I was ever going to sympathize with this douchebag. But, try as I might, I could not stop reading this book. I tried everything. But the writing was so engaging, and so amusing, and the story kept getting better and better.

For a novel in which 90% of the story takes place under the carriage of an SUV, this story feels like it spans an entire lifetime.

And in the end… I sympathized with that douchebag.

I worried about the conclusion as I was approaching the end of the book, loving it more and more and suspecting that the ending would disappoint, but once again Mykle Hansen proved me wrong.

This book is a masterpiece. Once I stopped protesting the douchebaggery of the narrator, I was able to appreciate the awesome feat of writing an engaging, meaningful story from under an SUV.

Mykle Hansen will change your life.

About pterodactylsamurai

Author of Love in the Time of Dinosaurs (2010), Chiaroscuro (2009) and editor of Unicorn Knife Fight Webzine
This entry was posted in Other Things You Should Read and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

